What's Hot


Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_mostread/helper.php on line 79

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_mostread/helper.php on line 79

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_mostread/helper.php on line 79

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_mostread/helper.php on line 79

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_mostread/helper.php on line 79

What's New


Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/buck20/public_html/mongoosetech.com/modules/mod_latestnews/helper.php on line 109

Resources

Clearwater Florida Walk-in Clinic PDF Print E-mail
Reviews - Aircraft Instruments
Written by Mongoose Bikes   
Friday, 15 August 2014 08:51
Last week I broke my ankle on a half pipe trick gone horribly wrong. I expected it was a sprain, without rubbing mud on it, walking it off was not going to help. This was a bad situation - getting worse. I had no insurance at the time either.

Next day, I need to remedy this situation, no frozen bag of peas was going to set me straight.

A friend of mind told me about this Clearwater walk-in clinic, I wanted to at least get x-rays, and a true sense of my situation. I came in, I had a 45 min wait, but I wasn't in a ton of pain, no problem.

I meet the doctor and told her my story, then she answers my questions. I think she was vey personable and had a great bed-side manner.

She wraps up my broken ankle, gives me a brace, recommends me to a specialist in Tampa who will take non-insurance peoples like myself.  She gave me a copy of my X-rays, sent me to a great bone and joint Doctor. He fixes my ankle, I'll write a review of him soon.

Last Updated on Friday, 15 August 2014 11:04
 
Lump Sum Cash Claims Texas PDF Print E-mail
Reviews - Aircraft Instruments
Written by Mongoose Bikes   
Monday, 14 June 2010 08:21

I have recently been in the market for some cancer insurance for my father who lives in Texas and thought I would share my experiences with my small base of followers here in case some of you guys are in the same dillema. My father was diagnosed with prostate cancer about 2 months ago and was given less than a five year survival rate. Upon thinking about our current finances with my father and some joint loans we have together, I decided I better take out an insurance policy to help cover some of the expenses.

Little did I know obtaining life insurance in Texas was almost impossible once someone has been diagnosed. I ended up stumbling across a company that actually specializes in Texas Cancer Insurance and lump sum cash plans for Texas residents. The cancer plan was almost too easy, these guys didn't require a doctors visit, didn't send an agent to my house and all the normal high pressure tactics used by life insurance companies there in Texas.

I finally chose a Texas lump sum cancer insurance policy that was not only affordable but very easy to get set up. The company was fabulous and closed the deal quickly, giving me immediate piece of mind. So if anyone is looking for lump sum cancer insurance, please check this site out...

Last Updated on Thursday, 08 August 2013 18:51
 
Lake Greeson Real Estate PDF Print E-mail
Reviews - Aircraft Instruments
Written by Mongoose Bikes   
Monday, 14 June 2010 08:10

I have been looking at land and property on Lake Greeson Arkansas, because of it's natural beauty and great riding trails. I stumbled across this one piece of Lake Greeson Reale Estate that had some of the best terrain for mountain biking in Arkansas. The drive to the property is quite and isolated, so you would want to bring some friends for safety. Most of the trails run right alongs side of Lake Greeson property which provides and extremely scenic view from almost all riding trails.

Go through the main entrance and you will come to a series of hills and banks that make a great jumping surface with a smooth impact on the cushy Arkansas soil. The greatest thing about the property on Lake Greeson is the freedom you experience around each turn. Each hill reveals a beutiful sight upon topping it, showing the beautiful natural landscape of this Lake Greeson property and the land for sale around it.

 
Lightspeed Zulu PDF Print E-mail
Reviews - Aircraft Instruments
Written by Mongoose Bikes   
Sunday, 09 May 2010 14:54

Lightspeed Zulu ANR Headset

The Lightspeed Zulu had the most to say in the headset comparison.  I’ve heard some really good reviews about the Lightspeed Zulu from my other pilot friends and wanted to see… I must try the proof for myself.  I couldn’t wait to try out the Lightspeed Aviation Zulu.

The Lightspeed Zulu was delivered a several days later and the first thing I noticed about them was the extremely light weight. They seemed very light and well made; not flimsy, just solidly built. Turns out the reason for the light weight is the  construction from stainless steel and 4 different type of composite plastics.  Take the ear cups for example, which I learned later are made from magnesium.  The magnesium gives the Zulu’s earcups plenty of rigidity and makes for an excellent sound barrier which means even when moving around the cockpit or turning your head, your going to keep the noise out.  The other thing I noticed about the headset when it arrived was  Zulu’s controller.  I noticed the controller had some extra buttons that I wasn’t familiar with, but I’ll get to that in a second.

The Zulu Review

My first flight using them was in the Beechcraft Premier, which has quite a bit of blower noise in the cockpit.  I typically put on my headsets right after the engine start and I noticed almost immediately (very comfortable by the way) that the passive noise reduction was very impressive.  Even with no ANR (active noise reduction) turned on, the headsets were very very quiet. I did turn the ANR on (the light (A) starts blinking green) and it suddenly got VERY quiet up front.  I could tell it was noticeably quieter than the Bose. Almost too quiet (I kind of like a little engine noise…I get a little nervous when I think the engines have stopped).

zulu-controllerI was told by another Zulu owner that one feature I had to try out was the bluetooth connectivity feature.  Bluetooth is a type of short-range wireless network that allows other Bluetooth equipped devices to share information and data.  For example, my phone (the Blackberry Storm) is a bluetooth enabled cell phone.  I can actually link the Lightspeed Zulu’s to my Blackberry Storm and use the Lightspeed Zulu Headset as a handsfree device! It didn’t take me too long to figure out this feature either.  You simply hold down the bluetooth button (F) on the Zulu’s controller for 5 secs (it will flash blue /red) and then set-up your phone to connect  (or “pair”).  It takes a couple seconds to find your phone and you might have to click “allow” on your BB Storm to confirm the bluetooth connection.  But once connected, there are a couple of neat things you can do, like:

* Press the Bluetooth button (F) on the Lightspeed’s controller once for voice dialing (if supported by your phone).
* Press the Bluetooth button once to answer the phone when it rings.
* Press the Bluetooth button once to disconnect from a call.
* Press and hold the Bluetooth button for 2 seconds to redial the last number called. Use the Bluetooth volume buttons (Zulu’s + and – buttons {H}) to adjust volume.

Once I tried out these features, I had an idea:  What would the Zulu’s controller do if I put my Storm in media player mode? Turns out, now Zulu’s controller acts as a music player remote control!  I can play, stop and adjust the volume on the Storm’s media player.  And as I was listening to the music, I pushed another button (D) on the Lightspeed’s controller, “FRC”.  FRC stands for Front Rear Channel and it is simply an amazing audio feature.  Headsets are notoriously awful for recreating true stereo.  Stereo music is designed to be listened through stereo speakers not headsets.  I’m not an audiophile, but apparently it has to do with the way that music is mixed in the studio, it is not designed for headsets.  All I know, is that when I pushed the “FRC” button on the Lightspeed controller, I thought I had suddenly slipped on a pair of audiophile quality headphones, not a pair of aviation headsets.  The sound quality was absolutely stunning.  In fact, I called up one of my passengers to try it out for himself.  I had him put on the headsets while it was not in FRC mode and then I pushed the FRC button while some music was playing (streaming via bluetooth from my Storm) and he was quite impressed.  He said, “Sounds like a pair of expensive home audio headsets”.   The other neat thing about listening to music while flying was the Auto MusicMute feature which dims the music volume by 80% when radio communications come in from the panel.  That way you don’t miss any important radio calls, but the music stays low enough to hear it in the background.

My only complaint about the Lightspeed Zulus (and it’s kind of a big one) was the clamping force.  After a couple other flights, I determined that with my big head, I can only wear the Zulu’s for 3 hours max and then my head needs a break.  I don’t know if this is due to my hat size or the headsets and since I can’t use another head other than my own for a test control, I’m going to have to come to the verdict that they clamp just a little too tight for me (they might be fine for you).

Last Updated on Thursday, 08 August 2013 18:52
 
Garmin GPS Map PDF Print E-mail
Reviews - Aircraft Instruments
Written by Mongoose Bikes   
Saturday, 08 May 2010 23:59

Garmin GPS Map

The new portable Garmin GPSMap is an advanced GPS receiver for receiving satellite signals faster and in more aircraft. All Garmins are WAAS enabled: The Wide Area Augmentation System, also used by the FAA and DOT, provides satellite transmission connections for GPS accuracy and signal corrections. Load the Garmin GPS Map 60Cx up with extras like City Navigator street maps and BlueChart marine cartography: Garmin's GPS Map 60Cx will delight both the urban dweller and outdoor buff.

* All Garmins are hardy and durable, with a generous repair policy if needed.
* The color screen sure is pretty, a nice Garmin GPS Map .
* The remarkably fast USB connection. The USB interface cable is standard with your purchase (you can power your handheld GPS through the cigarette lighter in a car, just like with a cellphone).
* Dedicated geocaching mode with vertical and horizontal accuracy.
* The preset locations, or important waypoints if you set them.
* You can watch your progress on the map page.
* Precise autorouting and global positioning: The position measurement accuracy is truly great. While geocaching, I've never been more than a yard or two from the hiding Garmin GPS Map  set location.
* Compatability with Garmin's POI (point of interest) loader: Download your info via the SD slot.

* On bright, sunny days, you really need the backlight to see the screen - this drains the battery pretty quickly.
* The difficulty of learning to navigate this complex little gadget. GPS learning is strangely not intuitive; you need to really read the instruction manual.
* The manual assumes a certain amount of tech savvy which casual users (read: me) may not have, and some of the learning seems unsequential.

The instructions could be laid out better; if reordered, there would be less flipping back and forth.The Garmin GPSMap website has tech help just for newbies and frustrated users who are sick of flipping through their handbooks. However, the instruction manual does have enough graphics and simple explanations (once you find what you need) for the technically impaired!

Last Updated on Thursday, 08 August 2013 18:53
 
Bendix King Av8or PDF Print E-mail
Reviews - Aircraft Instruments
Written by Mongoose Bikes   
Saturday, 08 May 2010 23:42

Bendix King Av8or

After test flying the new Bendix King AV8OR touch screen hand-held portable gps for over 12 months now, and I like its recipe of giving high-end functions at a lower cost. So I was predictably intrigued when the company announced earlier this year that it was introducing what is essentially a scaled-up version of the Bendix King Av8or, called the Bendix King Av8or Ace. Like the original, the Ace is a touch-screen, portable, multifunction moving-map navigator with all the features of the original and then some.

The big difference between the two is clear for all to see the display. The Ace's bright, colorful 7-inch diagonal display (compared with 4.3 inches diagonally for the original Bendix King Av8or) makes all the difference, giving the Bendix King Av8or ACE a big advantage over its smaller sibling, not just in real estate but in utility.

I raved about the touch screen of the Bendix King Av8or in my review of it last year, and the technology of the Ace seems identical, and equally good. Like many touch-screen devices, the Ace has a virtual keypad for typing in the name of a fix or an address on the auto navigator. Even though the smallish size of the keys makes success at typing seem unlikely, I was amazed by the unit's ability to figure out what letter I was aiming at even when I was slightly off. And the level of touch required is just right.

In terms of features, the Bendix King Av8or Ace is packed, though some require that the user buy an additional third-party receiver, and most require service subscription.

In my book, the must-have add-on is XM satellite weather. For those pilots who don't have satellite weather in the panel, the Ace offers a way to get a good-size XM display at an attractive price. On one of my flights with the unit, I headed up to Denton, Texas, on just the kind of day when you need weather in the cockpit most. The ride was in and out of the clouds and it was bumpy, thanks to a nasty line of convective activity just to the west. With the unit connected to a WxWorx XM receiver using a Bluetooth connection, I used the Ace to check and recheck the weather to see what my best options were. The conditions were fast-changing, so it was great to have not only the Nexrad picture, but graphical and textual metars too. Using the touch screen, I simply "clicked" on the airport icon at Denton, requested more information and checked out the textual weather.

One thing I don't like is that the Bendix King Av8or Ace doesn't overlay the weather onto the moving map screen, a feature we've all come to expect. Instead you have to access it through the "weather" page. That page does, however, show your flight-plan route, so it's easy to keep track of where the weather is in relation to your route of flight.

The other killer app for the Ace is charts, for which Bendix/King teamed with Seattle Avionics, a company that specializes in charting and flight-planning software. Chart subscriptions and downloads are purchased through an easy, automated, nearly seamless process.

On the Ace you get a variety of charts — IFR charts of every description, from approaches to STARS, and something I really like, scanned en route charts, both high and low level. There are no scanned VFR charts for the Bendix King Av8or Ace, an omission that some users will miss, though not me. The update rate on the Ace is good enough that when you pan ahead on the map, it takes just a couple of seconds for the unit to redraw the screen.

That day I wound up diverting back to Austin, and back, I simply clicked on the AUS icon on the map screen, requested "more info," loaded the chart and selected the one I knew I'd get, the ILS for Runway 17L. I followed my progress on the Ace as I flew the approach.

While the Ace boasts a good-size screen, IFR charts are not full size. At full-screen view, the text is too small to be easily readable. Of course, you can zoom and pan to see different chart details up close. For many pilots, this unit will serve as a backup, their "ace" in the hole, so to speak.

The Bendix King Av8or Ace , as you've no doubt figured out, is a competitor to the Garmin 696, and as such, it's been popular so far. With its almost identical display and similar feature set, the Ace is, at face value, a good alternative to the 696.

Two factors complicate the decision. First, at around $2,000 with features that most buyers will pick (but before the XM receiver), the Ace costs a lot less, in fact about $700 less, based on typical street prices, than a comparably equipped 696. But 696 prices have been dropping and will likely continue to do so.

Also, the software on the Bendix King Av8or Ace isn't as sophisticated, easy to use or visually refined as Garmin's. Simple things like viewing an approach require a few extra button pushes that seem based on software requirements rather than the user's needs. And it can take a while to figure out how to do simple things, like switch from portrait to landscape view or go directly to a destination. And the Bluetooth setup for the XM weather receiver is surprisingly complicated. Like the 696, the Ace requires the use of external power for all but short flights.

After using the AV8OR for a couple of weeks now, I'm feeling at home with it. I love the display, the charts, the XM weather and the touch screen. I'm getting used to the software quirks, and I love the auto navigator and multimedia player.

The bottom line: Pilots who are thinking of getting a 696 but who are worried about the cost would be smart to look into the Bendix King Av8or Ace with its great display, excellent available charts, XM weather and available traffic (a utility that I did not test). Like its predecessor, the AV8OR Ace offers a lot of features on a great platform, and it does it for less.

Last Updated on Thursday, 08 August 2013 18:54
 
NJ Lottery PDF Print E-mail
Reviews - Aircraft Instruments
Written by Mongoose Bikes   
Saturday, 25 July 2009 00:00

The New Jersey Lottery is run by the government of New Jersey. Its games consist ofPowerball, Mega Millions, Pick 3, Pick 4, Jersey Cash 5, Pick-6, and scratch tickets. The Lottery is headquartered in the One Lawrence Park Complex in Lawrence Township, Mercer County.[1][2]

Former games included Lotzee and Lucky 7, both offering a higher prize potential than in Pick-3 and Pick-4. (The Pick-6 game, until 2000, also drew a five-digit Bonus Million number.)

An agreement between Mega Millions and the Powerball group was reached on October 13, 2009. Powerball tickets become available through the New Jersey Lottery on January 31, 2010; Mega Millions, initially known as The Big Game, had been available in New Jersey since 1999.

New Jersey Lottery players must be at least 18 years old. The New Jersey Network (NJN) airs live televised drawings twice a day, seven days a week; midday at 12:57 PM ET and nightly at 7:56 PM ET. NJN also airs the twice- weekly Mega Millions drawings at 10:59 PM every Tuesday and Friday night, as well as the Wednesday and Saturday Powerball drawings at the same time.

You can visit the New Jersey Lottery at www.njlottery.net

Pick 3

Pick 3 (originally known as Pick-it; the name changed to Pick-3 when Pick-4 began) is a New Jersey Lottery game played twice daily (see above for drawing times.) Prices, prizes, and options vary.

Pick 4

Pick 4 is a New Jersey Lottery game also played twice daily.

Jersey Cash 5

Jersey Cash 5 is a daily game. It draws five balls from 1 to 40. Games cost $1 each. The top prize is a jackpot that grows until there is a 5-of-5 winner.

Pick 6

Pick 6 is drawn on Monday and Thursday evenings. It draws six balls from 1 to 49. Games also cost $1 each. The jackpot begins at $2 million (annuitized with a cash option) and increases by at least $200,000 per rollover until there is a 6-of-6 winner.

Mega Millions (multi-lottery game)

On September 6, 1996, six lotteries began a multi-jurisdictional game, then known as The Big Game. In 1999, the New Jersey Lottery became its first additional member. The current name, Mega Millions, was adopted in 2002; a short time later, the name The Big Game was retired. The jackpots begin at $12 million. On January 31, 2010, many MUSL members (until then offering only Powerball) joined Mega Millions.

Powerball (multi-lottery game)

Powerball is a multi-lottery game that grew from 33 to 43 members on January 31, 2010. Powerball began in 1992. On October 13, 2009 the Mega Millions consortium and Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL) reached an agreement in principle to cross-sell Mega Millions and Powerball in U.S. lottery jurisdictions. On January 7, 2010, the New Jersey Lottery announced that Powerball would make its debut in New Jersey on January 31, 2010.

On March 13, 2010, New Jersey became the first previously Mega Millions-only jurisdiction to produce a jackpot ticket for Powerball after the January 31, 2010 cross-sell expansion. The annuity value of the prize is over $211 million; it was sold in Morris Plains. (None of the 33 Powerball members just before January 31, 2010, have sold a Mega Millions jackpot ticket since then.)

Players' jackpot choice

Unusually, for Pick-6, as well as Mega Millions and Powerball within New Jersey, players must choose cash or annuity when playing (instead of after winning.) The cash option, if chosen, is binding; however, an annuity ticket that wins a jackpot in any of the three games can be changed to cash. (There is no annuity option in Jersey Cash 5, as its jackpot shares are paid in lump sum.) This is in contrast to Texas, where Powerball, Mega Millions, and Lotto Texas players must choose when playing; the selection(s) in all three games are binding.

Last Updated on Friday, 20 August 2010 05:20